On a 69-30 vote, the United States Senate passed a $1 trillion infrastructure bill. While the bill falls short of the $2.5 trillion initially sought by President Joe Biden, the Congressional Budget Office says that the bill, which now moves to the United States House of Representatives, will add $284 billion to the budget’s deficit if fully passed.

The United States House of Representatives, led by Speaker Nancy Pelosi, will wait until the United States Senate acts on the $3.5 trillion bill that includes Medicare for all, free community college and green cards for Dreamers before she allows the bill to be debated.

What’s in the Infrastructure Bill?

The bill includes $550 billion in new spending over the next five years. It also includes:

  • $110 billion to repair the nation’s highways, including the largest amount ever spent on repairing bridges since the creation of the interstate system
  • $66 billion to improve the nation’s rail system, with much of it going to Amtrack
  • $65 billion to modernize the country’s power grid
  • $65 billion to improve broadband access
  • $55 billion to fix water issues, including replacing every lead water pipe used in America
  • $39 billion to improve public transit
  • $25 billion to improve the nation’s airports
  • $7.5 billion to install electric car charging stations

Some Republican senators say that the bill could easily fuel inflation. They say that the bill, which is over 2,100 pages long, contains too much pork. However, ten Republican senators voted to pass the bill:

  • Missouri Senator Roy Blunt
  • West Virginia Senator Shelley Moore Capito
  • Louisiana Senator Bill Cassidy
  • Maine Senator Susan Collins
  • North Dakota Senator Kevin Cramer
  • Idaho Senator Mike Crapo
  • Iowa Senator Chuck Grassley
  • North Dakota Senator John Hoeven
  • North Dakota Senator Deb Fischer
  • Alaska Senator Lisa Murkowski
  • Idaho Senator Rob Portman
  • Idaho Senator Jim Risch
  • Utah Senator Mitt Romney
  • North Carolina Senator Thom Tillis
  • North Carolina Senator Richard Burr
  • South Carolina Senator Lindsey Graham
  • Alaska Senator Dan Sullivan
  • Kentucky Senator Mitch McConnell
  • Mississippi Senator Roger Wicker